The Sound Brewery Ursus Spelaeus

Ursus Spelaeus from hence forth known as Ursus is one of three beers from Poulsbo, Washington’s Sound Brewery to recently arrive in Alberta. Ursus is an Imperial Stout brewed with a Belgian yeast strain at a modest 10% ABV with 68 IBUs. As Imperial Stouts are my favourite of all beers I find myself to rate them much differently than other styles with a probable bias. 

Pouring a bleak, opaque black with a finger of foamy beige head and a few splotches of short lived lacing Ursus looks like most Imperial Stouts from a distant. Taking a closer look with a quick sniff from the glass a prominent licorice as well as a robust roasted malt float off. As a person of Dutch heritage who grew up with licorice pastels as candy I love licorice especially in Imperial Stouts. I swoon with the thought of a licorice flavoured stout. The first sip has a noted roasty bitterness with sultry espresso and vanilla flavours as well as light fruity yeast notes albeit rather subtle. I am at first disappointed at the lack of licorice flavouring in the taste but after a while of sipping on Ursus a moderate lingering licorice takes form in the aftertaste. Ursus has a beautiful monstrous roast with espresso and vanilla notes but regardless of this, the licorice remains my centrepiece.

Grade: 92/100

Price: $10.49

3 comments

  1. mikescraftbeer · July 9, 2013

    I will have to keep my eyes out for this either in Vancouver or on a trip down to Washington. I love imperial stouts especially licorice ones such as Megadestroyer from howe sound brewing.

    • patrickthebeerguy · July 9, 2013

      Yes Megadestroyer is the best! They also make a great DIPA called Humulo Nimbus. CHEERS

      • mikescraftbeer · July 9, 2013

        Oh that would be good. DIPA’s are some of my favorite beers.

Leave a comment